Pride of Prairie Award

This Prestigious Award Was Created in 1985 by the PSF.

It is presented annually to recognize and show appreciation for the individual or individuals who exemplify the spirit of and a commitment to Prairie Schools.  

Nominate someone today who represents the Pride of Prairie.  Nominations are due by noon, Tuesday, October 15, 2018. Thank you in advance for your nomination.

This prestigious award is presented by the Prairie School Foundation to give recognition and show appreciation to an individual(s) who exemplifies the Prairie Spirit and a loyal commitment to our Prairie Schools. The Pride of Prairie Award will be presented at this fall’s Prairie Foundation Society Breakfast, and will also be recognized at Prairie Fest 2019.

Submit your nomination by letter or email including your name and contact information along with the nominee’s name and qualifications. It is important that you state why this person (or persons) is deserving of the Pride of Prairie Award. Give specific details describing how your nominee has shown the Prairie Spirit and dedication to our Prairie Schools and Prairie Kids. The Pride of Prairie selection committee will choose the recipient based on your input. The more details you provide the better. 

Nominations for the award are solicited from residents in the College Community School District. The nominations must be in writing, provide specific information about the nominee’s contributions to the district and signed by the nominator. Nominations should be sent to Randy Rumery, Executive Director, Prairie School Foundation, 401 76th Avenue SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-7034 or The nominations are submitted to a volunteer selection committee of five for review. After a thorough review of the nominations, the committee ranks the nominees focusing on men and women who have a reputation as positive role models for all Prairie Students.  

Nominees typically have given some treasure, talent and time to the Prairie Schools, their teachers, staff and students. 

Time is Your Greatest Gift

Currently the Pride of Prairie Award is presented by the foundation’s president during the Prairie Foundation Society annual breakfast most recently held on October 2, 2017. Since its inception, the Pride of Prairie Award has been given to 35 individuals, couples or groups.

We Extend Congratulations And Genuine Appreciation to Our Past Recipients:
  • 1985 Mary Hynek
  • 1986 George Joens
  • 1987 Joyce Anderson
  • 1988 Jack Hayes
  • 1989 Larry Hardin
  • 1990 Nancy Cook
  • 1991 Ron Nove
  • 1992 Florence & Bill Glass
  • 1993 Ed Hielers
  • 1994 Joanne Chadima
  • 1995 Bonnie Becicka
  • 1996 Sandy Flatgard
  • 1997 John Randles
  • 1998 Phyl Britcher
  • 1999 Pam & Larry Langton
  • 2000 George Chadima
  • 2001 Glenn Selzer
  • 2002 Becky & Roger Neuhaus
  • 2003 Mick Starcevich
  • 2004 Vicki Hyland
  • 2005 Ken Hanzlik
  • 2006 Craig & Karen Vondracek
  • 2007 Tom & Linda Carver
  • 2008 Marilyn Miller
  • 2009 Patti Joe Scheel
  • 2010 Julie Farmer
  • 2011 Al Soukup
  • 2012 Charter Foundation Members
    • Sherry Pipkin
    • James Macek
    • John Anderson
    • Norman Humble
    • Dwight Hughes
    • Ron Nove
    • Bonnie Becicka
    • Bill Bach
    • George Chadima
  • 2013 Greg & Debbie Erenberger
  • 2014 Kathy Waychoff
  • 2015 Mary & Chuck Gudenkauf
  • 2016 (Spring) Randy Bauer
  • 2016 (Fall) Dean Schrader
  • 2017 Mike Fisher
  • 2017 Mark Smyth


Prairie Fest is the Prairie School Foundation’s most popular and…
The Prairie Hawk Golf Challenge is a great way to entertain friends…


Prairie School Foundation
401 76th Avenue SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-7034
Phone: (319) 848-5256