Prairie Foundation Society Breakfast

Prairie Foundation Society Holds its Fourth Annual Recognition Breakfast

The Prairie School Foundation formed the Prairie Foundation Society in 2016 to honor its most generous donors.  The Society meets for breakfast and a program featuring a guest speaker and the presentation of several awards. 

Two awards were presented to Prairie financial supporters during the program. The awards recognize outstanding financial support of the Foundation, by a business or organization and one to an individual or Prairie Family. In addition the coveted Pride of Prairie award was announced and a new award, established just this year, the Prairie Legacy Award, was presented.

The Daniel Chen family received the philanthropy award for an individual or family.  The family was represented by Daniel Chen and his sons, Fu and Philip. 

The Chens initially funded an endowed scholarship with a gift of $21,000.  Unfortunately Ying Chen, Daniel’s wife passed away before the first scholarship was awarded in the spring of 2018.  Through their additional support and memorial gifts from a number Ying’s family and friends the fund has grown to $26,000. 

This endowed scholarship was created to honor Ying Ying Chen for her passion and inspiration in education and her tireless devotion to the Prairie Schools during her nearly two decades of service.

OPN Architects was presented the philanthropy award for business by Foundation President Julie Kelly.  OPN has been the principal sponsor of Prairie Fest, the foundation’s primary fundraiser, for a number of years and they have been active in our Prairie Fest auctions as well.  In addition, they have been supportive of our annual Prairie Hawk Golf Challenge, our second largest fundraiser.   They received a commemorative plaque in appreciation for their loyal financial support of over $30,000.

Joseph Tursi, Vicki Hyland, and Roger Worm with President Julie Kelly

Daniel Chen, Fu and Philip Chen with President Julie Kelly

Steve and Terri Howes with President Julie Kelly

The Pride of Prairie Award is given to those who have demonstrated loyal commitment and service to the Prairie Schools.  Steve and Terri Howes received this year’s award. Steve has served on the board of directors of the Prairie School Foundation continuously since 1998.  He has provided pro bono legal services to the foundation and many other nonprofit organizations throughout his career.

Terri, a respected teacher at Prairie View Elementary School since 1988, has volunteered for a number of committees that serve to support Prairie students, teachers and administrators.  In addition to fulfilling her classroom duties Terri has served as a cadre member and a mentor to new teachers in the district.

Steve and Terri have faithfully shared their time, talent and treasure with the College Community School District. 

The Prairie Legacy Award was created by the Prairie School Foundation this fall, 2018, to recognize outstanding, specific and meritorious service to the College Community Schools, the Prairie School Foundation, our community and education in general. 

The inaugural Prairie Legacy Award was presented to Mick and Linda Starcevich.  In recognition of their 26 years of continuous service to the Prairie Schools, Kirkwood Community College and the Prairie School Foundation.         

 Mick Starcevich was selected as the Superintendent of the College Community School District in 1992.  He became the President of Kirkwood Community College in 2003 and he became a member of the Prairie School Foundation board in that same year.  While he retired in 2018 from Kirkwood, Mick continues to serve on the Prairie Foundation Board.

Linda Starcevich was an educator too teaching middle school mathematics and later was an adjunct professor of math at Kirkwood.  As first lady at College Community and Kirkwood Linda helped host countless events on campus an in their home.


Prairie Fest is the Prairie School Foundation’s most popular and…
The Prairie Hawk Golf Challenge is a great way to entertain friends…


Prairie School Foundation
401 76th Avenue SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-7034
Phone: (319) 848-5200 Ext. 2044